Date: Tue 07 May 2013

Prestatyn Create History with inaugural Welsh Cup Win

Prestatyn Town celebrate Welsh Cup

Prestatyn Town celebrate Welsh Cup

Prestatyn Town created Welsh Cup history by winning the trophy for the first time on an excellent Final at the Racecourse on Bank Holiday Monday.

A crowd of nearly two thousand saw an exciting final in brilliant sunshine at the Racecourse in Wrexham.

Jason Price,the former Swansea City player proved to be the hero with two goals. But the Prestatyn star proved to be goalkeeper Jon Hill Dunt with a man of the match performance.

Not only did he save Dave Morley's penalty he pulled off a brilliant save just before half time to preserve his teams one nil lead. Jason Price gave Prestatyn the perfect start with a goal after only two minutes.

Bangor ended the half strongly but trailed at the interval. Neville Powell' s team grew stronger in the second half and deservedly equalised through Chris Simm. But Prestatyn held on to take the game to extra time with Hill Dunt again outstanding.

There was plenty of drama in extra time, Prestatyn scored twice through Andy Parkinson and Jason Price. Bangor's cause not helped by the sending off of Michael Johnston for two yellow cards.

Neil Gibson and Lee Jones led the celebrations in front of their ecstatic supporters. They can now look forward to a first ever trip to Europe as they will compete in the Europa League First Qualifying Round next season.

Final Score 3-1 (aet) - 1-1 after 90 mins.


Jason Price scores his second goal

Jason Price scores his second goal

Prestatyn Town - Jason Price 2', 111', Andy Parkinson 103'
Bangor City - Chris Simm 60'

Prestatyn Town: 25.Jon Hill-Dunt, 2. Chris Davies, 22.Anthony Stephens, 4. David Hayes (c), 23.Greg Stones, 6. Gareth Wilson (Rhys Owen, 106'), 7. Michael Parker, 8. Neil Gibson, 9. Andy Parkinson, 10. Jason Price (Carl Murray, 119'), 11. Ross Stephens

Unused Subs:12. Dan Evans, 17. , 20. , 14. Adam France.

Bangor City: 1. Lee Idzi, 18. Liam Brownhill (2. Peter Hoy, 105'), 3. Chris Roberts, 4. Dave Morley (8. Robbie Booth, 65'), 5. Jamie Brewerton (c), 6. Michael Johnston, 7. Chris Jones (11. Sion Edwards, 59'), 19. Damien Allen, 20.Ryan Edwards, 9. Les Davies, 10. Chris Simm

Unused Subs:21. Corey Jones, 17. John Owen

Red Card: Michael Johnson (Bangor City) -102 mins.

Ref: Kevin Morgan (Cardiff)
Assistants: Phil Roszkowski (Wrexham) & Gwynne Vaughan (Abergele).
4th Official: Richard Harrington (Aberdare)

Att: 1,732.

Thanks to Les Evans for the images.

Don't worry, we hate spam as much as you do. We will only send you the latest updates and anything we think you will enjoy reading about.

Hit enter to send your tweet

Go to Youtube Channel
WPL Preview: Bangor City v The New Saints 01/12/12