Date: Sat 30 Mar 2013

Saints Crowned Champions at Park Hall

Wilde brace sinks Town

TNS skipper Paul Harrison lifts the Cup

TNS skipper Paul Harrison lifts the Cup

The New Saints were crowned Corbett Sports Welsh Premier League Champions with five games to play following their 3-0 win over Carmarthen Town at Park Hall on saturday afternoon.

Scott Ruscoe’s header - his first goal of the season - after 36 minutes of play settled the Saints’ nerves in what proved to be a physical and enthralling encounter.

Casey Thomas was sent off for a foul on Chris Marriott on the hour mark and 4 minutes later Michael Wilde netted the vital second goal.

Wilde also claimed his 20th League goal of the season after 74 minutes as he headed home from six yards.

So the Saints claim their 7th WPL title since they first won the League in 2000 and now share Barry Town’s coveted record of becoming Champions on seven different occasions.

Don't worry, we hate spam as much as you do. We will only send you the latest updates and anything we think you will enjoy reading about.

Hit enter to send your tweet

Go to Youtube Channel
Cefn Druids 3-1 Bala