Date: Fri 09 Apr 2010

Eight Clubs receive the FAW Domestic Licence, Nine for UEFA

An independent panel awarded eight clubs the FAW Domestic Club Licence today, which will allow them to participate in the restructured Welsh Premier League next Season, if they also qualify on sporting merit through their League position.

The clubs to receive the Domestic Licence are;

1. Aberystwyth Town
2. Carmarthen Town FC
3. Haverfordwest County FC
4. Llanelli
5. Neath FC
6. Newtown AFC
7. Prestatyn Town
8. The New Saints FC

The other clubs who applied for the Domestic Licence, but were turned down have the right to appeal to another independent committee. Clubs will be given ten days to submit their appeal.

The independent committee also assessed the applications for a UEFA licence today and awarded nine UEFA licenses. The UEFA licence is a pre-requisite for participation in the UEFA club competitions. These were awarded to;

1. Aberystwyth Town
2. Bangor City
3. Carmarthen Town FC
4. Haverfordwest County FC
5. Llanelli
6. Neath FC
7. Newtown AFC
8. Porthmadog
9. The New Saints FC

Following todays meeting, Football Association of Wales Club Licensing Manager Andrew Howard said;

"The First Instance Body was extremely diligent in their assessment of the clubs today and after a very long meeting, I am satisfied with their outcome."

"I firmly believe that some clubs will be successful on appeal and one certainly should rectify this within a matter of days."

It is the Football Association of Wales' strategy to have a Welsh Premier League consisting of twelve clubs next year with the domestic licence and Howard added;

"I'm optimistic that we will attain that number."

Don't worry, we hate spam as much as you do. We will only send you the latest updates and anything we think you will enjoy reading about.

Hit enter to send your tweet

Go to Youtube Channel
Cefn Druids 3-1 Bala