Llangefni Town 's club badge

Llangefni Town

Llangefni Town Football Club was founded back in 1897, although according to archive records, they show that there was a team in the Town in 1892, but this was primarily a Chapel based team. Llangefni Town were founder members of the Anglesey Football League when it was founded back in 1897, and they played in it with some distinction for many years winning the League title six times as well as winning the Dargie Cup twice, and the Megan Cup once and the reserves picking up the North Wales Coast Junior Cup 1991/92, but eventually the club accepted promotion into the Gwynedd League in 1988/89 season and in their first season they achieved the treble, winning the League Championship along with the Eryri Shield and the Gwynedd Cup, the following season 1989/90 they repeated this tremendous achievement. The following season 1990/91 the club accepted promotion into the then Tyn Lon Volvo Welsh Alliance League (now called the Pentraeth Honda Welsh Alliance League), where they won the League Championship, the Barritt and Alves Cups, not bad for their first season at this level, they then went on to win the Barritt Cup outright after treble success in the competition for season's 1990/91, 1991/92 and again in 1992/93, they also won the Cookson Cup in 1993/94 and also won the Welsh Alliance League Championship four times between 1990/91 and 1998/99, as well as being the only Anglesey club to ever have won the Welsh Intermediate Cup back in 1991/92 season. Between 1994 and 1997 the team were not playing too well Committee invited Bryan Owen to take charge of the team, and slowly but surely he managed to turn things around, and he rejuvenated the club, and when the club were invited to make an application to join the Cymru Alliance League which was accepted for the 1999/2000 season, and then we moved to our new ground at Talwm Road, Llangefni. The club aimed for a mid table position in their first season and eventually finished in ninth place out of seventeen, exactly half way, in 2000/01 they finished as the runners up to Caenarfon Town in a close finish, and in 2001/02 we ended the season as runners up again, this time to Welshpool Town, in 2002/03 we were looking to finish in the top six after a dismal start and having a change of Manager after half a dozen games, Bryan Owen the former manager returned for the remainder of the season and we eventually finished in fourth place which was not too bad, and last season, again after a dismal start we eventually finished up in fifth place, but this season we will be looking for a vast improvement, but we have to be realistic, having rebuilt the team and bringing in some new and experienced players along with some very talented youngsters. that we have, a top six spot will be our aim.The reserve team under the guidance of Rob Hughes and John Buckland finished in seventh place in the Gwynedd League in their first season which was acceptable, after an unbelievable 2002/03 season in the Anglesey League, winning the League Championship, along with the Dargie, Elias and the Thomas & Williams Cups and the A.E.E.U. Cup, after a learning spell last year in the Gwynedd League, we hope that the players can continue and build on their success of late, and continue with the development of the young players which are coming through, last season we saw several youngsters break through from the Under 17's side, and all credit to the Junior sides in the development of these young players. This season the club has appointed Bryan Owen to take charge of the first team affairs after the management duo of Bob Parry and Aled Owen left the club at the end of the season after failing to gain promotion, the reserves also have a new management team in place, Daron Wyn Jones will take over as player manager after the departure of Rob Hughes and he will be ably assisted by Gary Jones and Mike Roberts, while Terry will take over the Secretary's position for the reserves after the departure of Ieuan Williams. In October 2007 former Caernarfon & Colwyn Bay manager Adie Jones took over from Bryan Owen as first team manager. The season went well with the team only losing 1 game under Adie and winning the league to gain promotion to the Welsh Premier league, to fulfill the club's ambitions over the past 10 years. Llangefni were in the League for just one season, as they were relegated in 2007/08, finishing bottom of the League. They started the year with Adie Jones in charge, Alex Kevan replaced him before Christmas, but Kevan was also replaced after just one month, by Derek Roberts and Mike Inness, with Gus Williams as the Director of Football before the end of the year. They were a very good addition to the League and will be missed, they returned to the Cymru Alliance in 2008/09.

Home Kit:
All Blue.
Cymru Alliance League, North Wales Coast FA.
Stadium Address:
Cae Bob Parry Talwrn Road
Anglesey, LL77 7RP
Admin Address:
13 Bryn Tawel Brynsiencyn
Ynys Mon , LL61 6RJ
Web Site:
07826 316796
01248 724 999
Gwynfor Parry
Club Secretary:
Terry Roberts


Click on the buttons above for club news, fixtures, tables and player information.

Click on the "iCal Fixtures" button to download a calendar file that will put all Llangefni Town 's fixtures into your calendar app. If you prefer to keep them in a spreadsheet, you can download a .csv file instead.

Click on the globe for a Google Map Satellite image of the ground / stadium. You will also be able to use Google's route planner to map your journey.